So that was Christmas!

Phew! I made it! A few things had to be scaled back to something more manageable given the timeframe, but I did manage to make all the presents for my family and friends this year. I did cheat a little as some people got things I’d made for my stall at the craft fair, but hey! That still counts!

I did several versions of this hat and this scarf in various yarns in such a short space of time I think I could make them in my sleep now. There was a minor problem with the sizing of a couple of the hats. One was supposed to be for my brother but was too small. It was, however, a perfect fit for my 10 year nephew… but his hat was too small so I’ll probably sell that one on my next craft fair stall in February. Oh well, I guess it all comes full circle in the end. My brother has requested a scarf to replace his hat, and I’m working on that now.

Some of this year's crocheted goodies

Some of this year’s crocheted goodies

It wasn’t all hats and scarves this year though. My mum requested a draft excluder she’d seen in Hip Crochet by Natalie Clegg, but I only made about 2/3 of the design so that it would actually fit in the intended doorway. The white square with the red heart was a bit of a nightmare. I redid it and it still doesn’t look right, but as it’s on a draft excluder it will be lying on the floor so no one will see it that close up!

SONY DSC SONY DSC

My older sister requested a Blooming Flower Cushion like the one I made for my niece’s birthday, only in colours inspired by her favourite Tiffany-style lamp. I did my best!

P1020732

The photo doesn’t really do it justice. Looks better IRL – promise!

I didn’t have enough time to really try out my new sewing machine, but I was determined to make my dad some “manly” anti-moth lavender bags for Christmas, as he has lost quite a few jumpers to the little blighters this year.

What makes them "manly" lavender bags? Well there's the plaid, and the applique hammer and spanner, plus I added drops of lemongrass and cedar essential oils to the dried lavender, so it smells manly too!

What makes them “manly” lavender bags? Well there’s the plaid, and the applique hammer and spanner, plus I added drops of lemongrass and cedar essential oils to the dried lavender, so it smells manly too!

I made good use of my pompom makers to decorate everyones presents. I bought some fabric yarn on ebay ages ago and there wasn’t really enough of it to make something, but it turned out to be perfect for making pompoms! I also customised luggage tags with ink stamps and washi tape to make gift tags. It was so quick and easy, but still one of my favourite makes this year.

Homemade pompoms and gift tags - two of my favourite things about Christmas this year!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Homemade pompoms and gift tags – two of my favourite things about Christmas this year!

I love making crocheted bowls and baskets, improvising a pattern as I go, but something keeps happening when I show them to other people. I made my younger sister this beaded basket…

SONY DSC

And this is what she did with it!

P1020767_edited-1

K went for the stern matron look

And our other sister tried it on too!

P1020766

But J just smiled sweetly and looked her usual photogenic self!

This wasn’t an isolated incident either. A basket I made for my Knit for Victory group was snapped up by a fellow member and she wears it as a hat! Maybe I should consider opening a Mad Hat section in my Folksy shop. Who knows, maybe there are more people out there eccentric enough to wear my creations….

2 thoughts on “So that was Christmas!

Leave a comment